The Story of English TV Series (MacNeil, McCrum & Cran)

The Story of English is the title of an Emmy Award-winning nine-part television series, and a companion book, both produced in 1986, detailing the development of the English language.

The book and the television series were written by Robert MacNeil, Robert McCrum, and William Cran. The book has been revised twice, once in 1993, and again in 2002.

The documentary series was directed by William Cran, and originally broadcast on BBC and PBS. It was co-produced by MacNeil-Lehrer Productions and the BBC, and was principally funded through a grant from General Foods. The third episode, “A Muse of Fire”, won the 1987 Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Individual Achievement – Informational Programming – Writing. The series was released as a 5 tape box set in 2001, running 495 minutes. The book and series have been used in University courses.

An English Speaking World is said to explore the development of modern English, and it illustrates English as the language of choice for technology, diplomacy, business and popular culture for many nations. Brief piece on a conference of French speaking countries to create French words for invading English words.

Episode list

1.An English Speaking World

2.The Mother Tongue

3. A Muse of Fire

4.The Guid Scots Tongue

5.Black on White ( Includes Interviews With Philadelphia Hip Hop Legends The Scanner Boys, Parry P and Grand Tone)

6.Pioneers, O Pioneers!

7.Muvver Tongue

8.The Loaded Weapon

9.Next Year’s Words


Playlist created by



Your thoughts ...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s